NOW PAC Victories to Celebrate

Printable PDF

NOW PAC Victories to Celebrate

NOW PAC endorsed 153 federal candidates in the 2016 cycle.  93 endorsed feminist candidates won their general election.

NOW PAC endorsed 5 of the newly elected Senators.

  • Catherine Cortez Masto (NV): First woman to represent Nevada in the Senate and the first Latina to serve in the Senate.
  • Tammy Duckworth (IL): First Thai American to serve in the Senate and the first Asian American woman elected to Congress. Duckworth was the first combat disabled veteran to serve in Congress and will be the first to do so in the Senate.
  • Kamala Harris (CA): Harris is of Jamaican and East Indian heritage and will be the first African-American woman to serve in the Senate since Carol Moseley Braun, making her just the second African-American woman Senator.
  • Maggie Hassan (NH): Hassan was the second woman elected to be governor after Jeanne Shaheen with whom she will now serve in the Senate.
  • Chris Van Hollen (MD): Former Montgomery County NOW member who will now serve as the 2018 Chair of the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee.

Newly elected NOW PAC House endorsed members:

  • Val Demings (FL-10): Demings was the first woman Chief of the Orlando Police Department.
  • Stephanie Murphy (FL-07): Murphy is the first Vietnamese-American woman elected to Congress.
  • Jamie Raskin (MD-08): Law professor.
  • Brad Schneider (IL-10): Former member of the House.
  • Carol Shea Porter (NH-01): Former member of the House regained her seat and who was in her first election the first woman elected to Congress in 2006 from New Hampshire.
  • Dwight Evans (PA-02): Defeated incumbent Chaka Fattah in the 2016 primary election and won a special election on Nov. 8 following Fattah’s resignation from Congress. He will have the top seniority of his class.
  • Pramila Jayapal (WA-07): Jayapal will be the first Indian-American woman to serve in Congress.